script idea - Z distribute while keeping visual size

Moho allows users to write new tools and plugins. Discuss scripting ideas and problems here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

funksmaname

script idea - Z distribute while keeping visual size

Post by funksmaname »

I have a plugin in after fx that lets me distrubute objects in z space while keeping them visually the same size. I'm not very good at maths but I assume this can be worked out with numbers... essentially it could be a button that asks for a z offset from you, and when you click 'go' it does the z offset on the layer and at the sime time adjusts the layer scale so that the object remains visually identical to the viewer (until you move the camera)

This would probably save a bunch of time when you lay out a scene flat and then just want to distribute it in space.

let me know your thoughts! :)
ponysmasher

Post by ponysmasher »

I actually have a script exactly like this for when I make animatics. I import the layers of a photoshop and then use this tool to put things at different Z depths while not visually changing size.

The reason to why I have never uploaded it is because it's not 100% done. It will currently only work on layers that haven't already been moved in Z, but it has worked for my purposes.

When I get back from vacation I can upload it and take another look at it. Maybe I've learned enough new Lua tricks to be able to finish it.
funksmaname

Post by funksmaname »

cool, that sounds great! I never use z depth and being able to spread stuff after it's already layed out would be cool :)

I assume from your description that once adjusted you can't re-adjust at this point, or will it work as long as you haven't manually changed a z translation?

Thanks dude!
ponysmasher

Post by ponysmasher »

As long as you haven't manually changed it, it works I think. But I will have a new look at the code and see if I can't make it better.
Karhu