Very stupid question

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

kevinhalg

Very stupid question

Post by kevinhalg »

I apologize in advance for the stupidity of this question....I am very new to AS.

I have a character built in layers. Specifically the eyes, I have a whites, pupils, highlights, upperlids, and closedlids layers.

All I want to do is make the eyes blink using the layers but i can not for the life of me make it work.

I have tried adding keyframes in on the closed layer and having that layer active/not active but I can not get it to work.

Would someone please hit me over the head??

Thanks for the help.

Kevin
heyvern

Post by heyvern »

We need more info please. What you describe is not enough to say where the problem is. I could give a whole bunch of solutions and maybe get the right one. Better to get a file or more info.

Key frames? Where? The Points? The layer? Did you just add keys or actually move something? Details details. More details.

-vern
kevinhalg

Post by kevinhalg »

Sorry. I'm not sure how to explain this. As I mentioned, I have some eyes created with several layers. I would like to have the closed lid layer become visible and then not in an attempt to simulate the eyes opening and closing. (all of which you probably understand)

The only movement would be the fact that the closed lid layer would become visible to cover the rest of the eye layers and then not visible.

What I have been trying to do is turn on/off the visibility in the layers palette on different keyframes, without success of course.

I could send the file but all it is at this time is 6 layers that make up an eye.
Layers are whites, pupils, highlights, upperlids, lowerlids and closed. Everything else is static, just want to open and close eye.

Is that any better?? Sorry if I am not being clear enough.

Thanks again.
kevinhalg

Post by kevinhalg »