Bones affecting groups within groups within groups

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Joelsquare

Bones affecting groups within groups within groups

Post by Joelsquare »

Hi all,

I'm wondering if someone can help me out here - I'm not sure if I'm misunderstanding bone usage, or if I need a scripting solution. Though I am a total AS noob, yes, I've done the tutorials, and yes I've searched the forums :). Part of my reason for posting is that I think I've discovered that I do need a scripting solution, but I'm cowering away from scripting as I don't fully understand it. Also, I've discovered a few things which sound like they are maybe what I'm looking for, but I'm hoping someone may read this and say "Oh you need..."

So, my situation: I've got a character that is a fairly complex 3D robot. I've built him, er, it to have workable joints that for now don't rely on bones. To explain this a bit better, I'll focus on one part of his body so you can understand what I mean:

I have a Group folder called "Upper Body". Contained in that folder are the many things that make up his upper body, including a Group folder called "Right Arm". In that folder is a folder called "Upper Arm", in that, "Fore Arm", in that, "Wrist", in that "Palm" etc, etc. The reason I did it this way is so that when I move his torso, everything that should move when a torso moves, does so automatically. If I bend his elbow, everything that comes after it on the arm automatically follows as it should. This essentially creates a parent-child thing going on as you would find in Poser.

So now that I'm nearly done, I want to add a bone layer too, but I'm finding that it isn't working well. Having done the tutorials and gone through the forums, I'm suspecting that this is because bone layers only affect the non-group layers it contains, is that right?