Importing PSD file with layers

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

IanC46
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:26 pm

Importing PSD file with layers

Post by IanC46 » Fri Dec 05, 2014 4:40 pm

I'm attempting to import a psd file with layers in AS Pro 10.

File -> New -> Import -> Image -> select psd file -> ?

According to the supplied tutorial video, a dialog box should appear
giving the option to include layers. That's not happening.

The image imports without layers. Have tried different psd files - same situation.

Any ideas/help very much appreciated.

Ian.
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4468
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by Greenlaw » Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:15 pm

That's strange. PSD multi-layers import worked here when I used it the other day.

Maybe your problem has to do with specific versions of PSD? For example, I imagine using certain features in the latest Photoshop will probably interfere with proper import. Let me check on that.

Quick question: are you using the latest version of ASP 10? The latest update brings it to 10.1.1. Might not matter but worth checking.

G.
Last edited by Greenlaw on Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4468
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by Greenlaw » Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Yeah, it's working here with Photoshop CC 2014 files.

I used File - Import - Image, selected my test .psd file, and a dialog came up asking if I wanted individual layers or a single composite (flattened) image. I selected Individually and got the three separate layers in ASP that I had prepared in Photoshop.

G.
Last edited by Greenlaw on Fri Dec 05, 2014 7:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
IanC46
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by IanC46 » Fri Dec 05, 2014 7:14 pm

Yes...version 10.1.1 Build 13559

I'm not getting that dialog box though, it just
directly imports the flattened image.
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4468
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by Greenlaw » Fri Dec 05, 2014 7:29 pm

I flattened my test.psd in Photoshop just to see what would happen, and the image imported without the dialog. I know that's not helpful but I just wanted to be sure about what property should trigger the dialog.

The layered file I'm testing with was created in Photoshop CC 2014. Layered import should work with .psd files created with earlier versions of Photoshop so that shouldn't be the problem. Just wondering, was the .psd you're using created in a program other than Photoshop? Does the dialog fail to popup with other layered .psd files, specifically ones created with Photoshop?

Hope you can get this worked out. If you run out of options, try reinstalling ASP. (I don't know if you need to deactivate your license before uninstalling--probably good to check on that first.)

G.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4468
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by Greenlaw » Fri Dec 05, 2014 7:31 pm

One more thought: Sorry if this sounds really obvious but you're certain you have Pro installed and not Debut? Just want to cover all bases here.

G.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
IanC46
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by IanC46 » Fri Dec 05, 2014 7:54 pm

Definitely Pro installed.

I'm uncertain as to the program the psd's were created in.
I had some 30 characters created which I want to animate,
which is why I recently purchased AS.

Is there a limit to the amount of layers that can be imported?
These have a lot of layers.

I will contact the person who created the characters to search
out more about the creation.

Thanks very much for your help - refreshing to have such
a quick response in a forum.

Ian.
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4468
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by Greenlaw » Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:55 pm

If you have access to Photoshop (any version,) try creating a file with three layers and a different image in each (a distinct brush stroke in each layer is all you need.) Save that and see if you can import it as individual layers in ASP. If this works then at least we know the feature itself is okay in your copy of ASP, and that the problem is probably with the file you got from the other artist.

Hope this helps.

G.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
IanC46
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by IanC46 » Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:32 pm

Well, it is not AS.

I was able to load another psd file -which activated the
dialog box - I had.

Back to the drawing board with these characters I guess.

Thanks for your time.

Ian.
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4468
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by Greenlaw » Sat Dec 06, 2014 3:47 am

Yeah, I suspect the image you have is flattened. Hopefully, the artist still has the unflattened version.

One more thing: if the layers have separate elements that are supposed to assemble as a single character in ASP, the background will need to be transparent for every layer.

Good luck and I hope you get this straightened out quickly! :)

G.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
IanC46
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by IanC46 » Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:16 pm

Your response opens up more questions.

My interpretation of "flattening" is where all the layers are merged
into one. If the flattened image is loaded into photoshop, the image's
separate layers would not display.

When loaded into PS, my separate character layers do display.

There is a background layer. I tried deleting that layer without success.

Rather than playing forum tag, would you mind if I sent you one of
the character psd files? It is probably something very obvious to someone
of your experience that isn't to me.

Ian.
User avatar
heyvern
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by heyvern » Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:42 pm

It has to do with using unsupported features of Photoshop for import into ASP.
Do NOT use vector layers or layer masking in your photoshop document.
These are two off hand that I recall.

However, all is not lost!
You can easily get around this limitation by turning any layers that have those unsupported features into Smart Objects in photoshop first. Anime Studio has no problem with Smart Object layers. So if you have a PSD with a ton of vector shape layers and layer masks, just turn those layers into smart objects.

Just an FYI, only use RGB color mode in photoshop for import into Anime Studio as layers. LAB won't even import at all and CMYK just imports a composite.

p.s. Sounds a bit crazy and overly complicated but I started using that trick to import from Illustrator directly into Anime Studio via Photoshop. I simply paste or import a bunch of Adobe illustrator layers into Photoshop as a smart object layers, save as PSD, import PSD into Anime Studio as separate layers. Works a treat. It saved a bit of time avoiding the extra step of exporting images from Illustrator. I tend to use smart objects like crazy in photoshop anyway.
IanC46
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by IanC46 » Sat Dec 06, 2014 6:11 pm

Thank you for the reply.

This is becoming more complicated than anticipated.

However, I have sent off a message to the creator of the
characters to get answers to your comments on the
unsupported features. Hopefully, I can narrow down the
problem once I get her reply.

Great trick in your p.s. btw. I'm going to try that in the future.

Ian.
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4468
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by Greenlaw » Sat Dec 06, 2014 8:38 pm

Yes, that's an excellent tip. I just completed setting up a bunch of titles in Illustrator and exported them all as .png for ASP. I'll keep Smart Objects in mind for the future--I think it could have saved me some time on this project.

Thanks heyvern. :)

G.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
KimsCreativeHub
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 2:33 am

Re: Importing PSD file with layers

Post by KimsCreativeHub » Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:41 pm

IM having issues stated in illustrator could get the vector in so i made it a PSD RGB then made sure i opened it in PS merged layers with blank layers to make sure they are rasters and i still get this?? :(

thanks all :)

Image
Post Reply