How to change the colour of an existing stroke?

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
Francis Seven
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:57 am
Location: City of Domes

How to change the colour of an existing stroke?

Post by Francis Seven » Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:26 am

How to change the colour of an existing stroke? It's really hard to figure this one out. And is it also possible to change the colour of strokes between two points?

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7251
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: How to change the colour of an existing stroke?

Post by synthsin75 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:32 am

Use the select shape tool to select the existing shape and then modify its style in the style window. You'll need to create a new shape to have a different style between specific points.
User avatar
Francis Seven
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:57 am
Location: City of Domes

Re: How to change the colour of an existing stroke?

Post by Francis Seven » Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:46 am

Thanks, synthsin. I'm also a bit confused as to why it is that when I drew my character's torso and added the stripes on his shirt with the paint bucket, it added a BUNCH of extra points and lines to the drawing. Now it's not manageable. Is there some way to fill in the parts with colour, without creating all this extraneous data??
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5497
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to change the colour of an existing stroke?

Post by slowtiger » Fri Mar 20, 2015 9:13 am

Stripes. How do you think the software should know where to draw a stripe if not by drawing a vector line to attach it to?

Anyway, there are ways to keep thigs tidy and easy to animate. Once your art is bound to bones you don't touch the points (much). Stripes and other complex fills are often done in extra layers. Or you use an image texture.
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB RAM OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB RAM OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
hayasidist
Posts: 2200
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: How to change the colour of an existing stroke?

Post by hayasidist » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:25 pm

@Francis Seven: paint bucket is a bad choice.

how to get "stripes" (keeping it simple):

TURN OFF auto fill and auto stroke
draw a rectangle (just 4 points)
add one point on one side and draw a line across to connect
repeat
you now have 8 points and 3 smaller rectangles, let's call them A, B, C.

in the style window select the fill colour for one stripe

Using the "CREATE SHAPE" tool - select the 4 points of rectangle A and hit the "create shape" button;
repeat for rectangle C

in the style window select the fill colour for the other stripe

Using the "CREATE SHAPE" tool - select the 4 points of rectangle B and hit the "create shape" button.

hth
User avatar
Francis Seven
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:57 am
Location: City of Domes

Re: How to change the colour of an existing stroke?

Post by Francis Seven » Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:33 pm

Guys, thanks for the suggestions. Both have good ideas. I liked the idea of using imported textures and also the procedural method with rectangles.

But tell me, is it normal that styles keep disappearing from the drop down window?
Post Reply