Quicktime format option not showing on 'export animation'

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
Rnoir
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:07 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Quicktime format option not showing on 'export animation'

Post by Rnoir » Thu Jan 18, 2018 1:13 am

I've recently formatted my PC (updated Windows 7 to 10) and installed Moho pro 12 again. The thing is that previous to formatting my PC I was already working on a project animating characters with a transparent background and exporting them in Quicktime format (with the "animation" preset in order to get the alpha channel). I did installed quicktime beforehand too, but still the quicktime option is nowhere to be found. Any idea how to get the quicktime format option back?

Image
Last edited by Rnoir on Thu Jan 18, 2018 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hayasidist
Posts: 2171
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Quicktime format option not showing on 'export animation

Post by hayasidist » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:00 am

Rnoir wrote:I've recently formatted my PC (updated Windows 7 to 10) and installed Moho pro 12 again.
after your reformat, did you install and run the 32 bit version of Moho? is the quicktime player installed?
manual page 411: wrote: QuickTime: (Mac and 32-bit version of Moho Pro for Windows only. Not available
in Moho Debut or 64-bit Windows). Saves the movie in QuickTime (mov) format.
On Windows, QuickTime output format only appears in the 32-
bit version of Moho Pro. The 32-bit version of Moho Pro is not
installed by default; you will need to check the option to install
during setup. You will also need to have QuickTime player installed.
jezjones29
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Quicktime format option not showing on 'export animation

Post by jezjones29 » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:14 am

As hayasidist wrote, 32bit version is probably the answer, but it's not recommended to have Quicktime for Windows installed due to its security vulnerabilities. Apple no longer support it.
I now use PNG images (output > format > image sequence).
Rnoir
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:07 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Re: Quicktime format option not showing on 'export animation

Post by Rnoir » Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:19 pm

Yep, it was that. I reinstalled moho (this time also the 32bit files) and now it shows. Thanks!
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7203
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Quicktime format option not showing on 'export animation

Post by synthsin75 » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:59 pm

jezjones29 wrote:As hayasidist wrote, 32bit version is probably the answer, but it's not recommended to have Quicktime for Windows installed due to its security vulnerabilities. Apple no longer support it.
I now use PNG images (output > format > image sequence).
You can install only Quicktime Essentials (one of the install options) to get the codecs without the security vulnerabilities of the QT player.
But yeah, PNG sequence is a good option too.
Post Reply