Adding smart layer hands to preexisting character

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Lordwardell

Adding smart layer hands to preexisting character

Post by Lordwardell »

So I have a character fully created already and I was trying to add more options of hands, I found a couple helpful videos online but the image is so small I can't see which buttons I'm actually suppose to press in order to get the desired results,
dondo

Re: Adding smart layer hands to preexisting character

Post by dondo »

Hey, I'm fairly new to this stuff too, but maybe I can help... but I'm not completely sure what you're asking, and the answer depends quite a lot on how you're doing it. Here's how I'm doing it:

The characters I'm working with are all drawn in photoshop and then imported as images (really as .psd files). We draw each segment of the limbs into a separate layer: e.g. upper arm, forearm, hands. So I then add bones along those segments, and flexi-bind each bone to the specific layer (which means I don't have to worry about bone strength affecting something it shouldn't). For any joints that don't look right, I add a mesh, tell the image to use that mesh as a "Smart warp layer," and then use smart bones to do the fine-point corrections.

So with that setup, to deal with hands in different positions (specifically things like rotating the palm in and out, and pointing fingers, and so on), we draw the various views of the hands independently. Then I put all the hands into a "switch" layer where the hand image would be if there were only one. Once that's done, I can now switch between the various views. I think perhaps that's what you need here?