Resume Cycled Action After Keyframing

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

CharlieChompnChicken

Resume Cycled Action After Keyframing

Post by CharlieChompnChicken »

I haven't needed to register on the forums until now because this is the first time I haven't found the answer by searching. Thanks to everyone providing help here it has been a valuable resource and I am extremely grateful. I have been learning animation and using the software for about two months so I am very new to this.

I am working with a cycled walk animation which is saved as an action. I would like to be able to have my character continue the walking action after key-framing a new action such as a wave or a pointing motion. After adding new key-frames, the cycle gets interrupted. I have to reinsert the same walking action reference and try to time it so that it looks smooth and natural. I seem to have accomplished what I am attempting once before but I don't know if it was just perfectly timed or if I got lucky and somehow accomplished what I hope is possible; regardless, I haven't been able to achieve this success again. To put it another way, after the character points, his arm is stuck there. I would like his arm to resume the walking animation after he is finished pointing. I have been trying to achieve this by reinserting a reference to the walk animation (sorry for repeating this, just trying to make it clear.) Auto-freeze keys is not checked.
Maestral

Re: Resume Cycled Action After Keyframing

Post by Maestral »

Most likely you were "just perfectly timed" but you`d be again with a little help of onion skinning.