Export the Character

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

abhayks

Export the Character

Post by abhayks »

hi,
I'm new to Moho and have a few questions.
1) Made a character that I like, how do I export it so that I can use the same in a differnet project ?
2) What version control system most people use with Moho ? Any recommendations.
Greenlaw

Re: Export the Character

Post by Greenlaw »

A common workflow is to make a character only 'master' project and import that. When you import the project, you'll get the option to select what you want from the file, to import it as a reference and to break the Style ID association.

The first part is obvious, and the other two options is up to you. If you anticipate making changes to your character, choose import as Reference. This way, when you update the 'master' character project, you have to option to update your rig in other projects, even after they've already been animated. (There are a few 'gotchas' to be aware of, so you shouldn't completely rely on this. There are usually ways to deal with unexpected issues, but that's a whole other subject.)

As for versioning, I just append each project file with '_001' and increment it. The versions are kept in a WIP (work-in-progress) folder, with a final version outside the folder that has no version number in its filename.

This is because Moho annoyingly takes its output file name from the project name preventing you from overwriting older renders. It's up to you but, IMO, I don't like to include version numbers in the render output name because it creates more work for compositors and animators; it's easier to just overwrite the files so the re-renders get picked up automatically in the compositing or editorial software.