Multiples of a Reference Layer

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
DK
Posts: 2496
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Australia

Multiples of a Reference Layer

Post by DK » Thu Apr 16, 2020 6:15 am

Hi.
Just wondering if anyone can help? I am trying to make several copies of a reference layer so that they are all controlled by one master reference layer. Problem is I can only get one layer reference working. When I create a 3rd reference layer from the master only the original copy works.

EDIT: I just tested this with a main layer and a sub layer and all works fine.
Could it be that because I am moving the copies to separate sub folders under the main bone layer they are breaking?

Anyone have any advice they could offer?

Edit2: It seems like the reference layers are breaking. Re syncing them does no good. Not sure what's going on?

Many thanks
D.K
User avatar
DK
Posts: 2496
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Australia

Re: Multiples of a Reference Layer

Post by DK » Thu Apr 16, 2020 6:47 am

Ok....I managed to get it working.....but it seems I have to follow a specific method of creating the reference layers. This may sound strange but it works if I highlight a ref layer copy so that the master layer is visible. Then create a copy of the master while it is highlighted, drag the ref layer to another layer and they all seem to work happily ever after?

D.K
Post Reply