Problems with papag. Same on Mac & PC?

Discuss Papagayo issues here

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, slowtiger

Craigar

Problems with papag. Same on Mac & PC?

Post by Craigar »

Hi All,

I'm new to PapaG & animation in general.

I'm on a mac. Is papaG better on PC? Or is it finicky on both platforms. Will it run fine on Vista? If so will the files be compatible back to my mac?

I find PapaG has exciting potential. I wish I could realize it on my computer.

The problem I'm currently having is simply dragging the words to their appropriate position. Sometimes it grabs the edges, sometime the whole word; sometimes nothing at all. It's untenable. It seems I need to click & hold the word for a time prior to dragging. Very frustrating. I had to change mouse hands because the stress could lead to carpal tunnel syndrome .

This would be an excellent place for AS to improve it's workflow.

Thanks in advance.
-Craig
mac g5 10.4.11
Craigar
mkelley

Post by mkelley »

PG is a little finicky, particular zoomed out. Zoom in for best results, but don't expect it to behave any better no matter what computer or platform (it works much the same on my slow laptop as it does on my fast multi-CPU monster). It requires patience but the rewards are great.

It produces ASCII files which I assume are the same on a Mac, so it can indeed be used on either platform. Also, the resultant files can be manipulated to offer even more possibilities.
Craigar

Post by Craigar »

Thanks.
My experience differs however.
I just couldn't take it anymore on the mac so I'm trying PG on my PC (Vista).
Papagayo actually WORKS on the PC! Hooray.

(I hope the files transfer back to my mac ok.)

Among other things PapaGayo would benefit from a disclaimer about not working well on Mac. That way Mac users won't trash the program altogether. ( A bad reputation can take years for software makers to overcome. )

I'm back to work.
-Craig
Craigar
heyvern

Post by heyvern »