Using different phonemes?

Discuss Papagayo issues here

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4874
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Using different phonemes?

Post by Víctor Paredes » Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:00 pm

Hi, I'm looking for this in the forum, but haven't found it yet, so maybe it's better to just ask :)
Do you know if there's a way in Papagayo (or Papagayo Mod) to use different phonemes? Currently, we are not using the Preston Blair's ones, but +20 other phonemes with their own names.
It would be great to know a way to adapt the software to use them instead.

Thank you very much for any help.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
hayasidist
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Using different phonemes?

Post by hayasidist » Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:47 pm

which papagayo version are you using?

V2 has its dictionaries "compiled in"; but IIRC V1 had them as separate files.

The basic principle is:

text (words) are used to reference the Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) Pronouncing Dictionary. This is a phonetic breakdown in N American English using 39 phonemes - e.g. Aluminium (without lexical stress) is translated as

AH L UW M IH N AH M

Papagayo then maps those to the PB phoneme set.

So, to use you own mouth shapes, it's necessary to change the mapping table to map the CMU-39 to something other than the PB set


But I haven't tried it, so I don't know the details

==

[edit] Found the V1 files: there's a file called phonemes.py (a python source file) which you can update. Note that the CMU source mapping includes lexical stress (suffix 0, 1, 2) on some phonemes
Post Reply