Moho MP4 Export animation Error

Discuss Moho bugs (or suspected bugs) with other users. To report bugs to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

DanaWhite
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:06 pm

Re: Moho MP4 Export animation Error

Post by DanaWhite » Sun Sep 30, 2018 5:28 pm

why Moho 12 just can rendering with 4 thread? I have a ryzen 5 1600- 12 thread and i just can use 4 of them for Rendering! So sad!
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4356
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Moho MP4 Export animation Error

Post by Greenlaw » Sun Sep 30, 2018 6:45 pm

I asked about this a while back. I was told that a fixed number of threads was decided several years ago when computer systems were more limited by memory, and internal testing showed that using more threads with insufficient RAM actually degraded performance. This was based on old testing data and I know the developers were thinking of re-evaluating Moho's multi-thread performance using with modern computer systems. I'm not sure what became of that.

Ideally, it should be up to the user to test their gear's capabilities and decide how many threads Moho can use. If they're not sure or don't wish to bother testing, there should be an 'Automatic' option.

It's been a few years since I asked for this. I should ask again.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2017
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
Post Reply