Blend Morph improvements PLEASE...

Discuss ideas for new features with other users. To submit feature requests to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
funksmaname
Posts: 3107
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Blend Morph improvements PLEASE...

Post by funksmaname » Mon Jun 27, 2011 3:06 am

Hi,
Please could you include an option to compare blend morph actions to frame0 instead of the current frame - this is how Rudigers MorphDials script works, and the lack of this feature means his script isn't running at its full potential... also, as they currently stand, morph dials don't really work in practice for reasons I described elsewhere

I think Rudiger asked for this before but if we get more support it might be included. It will allow Morph Dials to work so much better...

If anyone is listening - please include this change in a future update!
Please support this people, even if you've no idea what I'm talking about :P
ulrik
Posts: 1073
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Contact:

Re: Blend Morph improvements PLEASE...

Post by ulrik » Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:02 am

funksmaname wrote:Hi,
Please could you include an option to compare blend morph actions to frame0 instead of the current frame - this is how Rudigers MorphDials script works, and the lack of this feature means his script isn't running at its full potential... also, as they currently stand, morph dials don't really work in practice for reasons I described elsewhere

I think Rudiger asked for this before but if we get more support it might be included. It will allow Morph Dials to work so much better...

If anyone is listening - please include this change in a future update!
Please support this people, even if you've no idea what I'm talking about :P
I support this!
madrobot
Posts: 632
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 3:07 pm

Post by madrobot » Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:36 am

I need support!
I mean, I support you emotionally and agree that this is important!
hayasidist
Posts: 2139
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Post by hayasidist » Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:34 am

Hi,

sorry if I'm missing your point ... but as the first thing you do before you set up an action or pose you can always select and then "reset" the bones / points / switches that you want to be wrt frame zero... and just shift the ones without resetting that you're happy to have move wrt current frame...
ponysmasher
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:23 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Post by ponysmasher » Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:02 am

hayasidist wrote:Hi,

sorry if I'm missing your point ... but as the first thing you do before you set up an action or pose you can always select and then "reset" the bones / points / switches that you want to be wrt frame zero... and just shift the ones without resetting that you're happy to have move wrt current frame...
Funk has a visual example here http://www.kelleytown.com/forum/animato ... PIC_ID=676

And I would also love to have this feature in AS.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4875
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Tue Jun 28, 2011 1:55 pm

Rudiger is very clever. Obviously I support this :D
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
hayasidist
Posts: 2139
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Post by hayasidist » Tue Jun 28, 2011 5:24 pm

ok - an hour or so in the sandbox later ... got it (I hope)! - if I tell AS to morph from eyes open to eyes blink then I want the blink where the eyes are now, not where they were before I moved them down?

if so -- yes please!!
User avatar
GCharb
Posts: 2202
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:31 am
Location: Saint-Donat, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by GCharb » Tue Jun 28, 2011 6:17 pm

The more I play with blend morph, the more I see that it works in a linear fashion, though a great tool, it needs work!

Here is my latest test with it and if I try and go from a side view to say the top front view, I get something totally screwed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4usQWhLTC5E
jonbo
Posts: 896
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:53 am

Post by jonbo » Thu Jun 30, 2011 11:37 pm

please please update this. funk's idea has great potential.
rogermate
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:53 am
Location: Mars

Re: Blend Morph improvements PLEASE...

Post by rogermate » Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:20 pm

+1

Please also give Rudiger every beta release to play with and direct access to "the Mike".
User avatar
neon22
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 5:41 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by neon22 » Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:36 am

Blend morph needs to be displaced from frame 0 not the current frame.

I can't be expected to make inverses of changes done on previous frames just so I can blend the current one.
I suppose I should post an example of why this is bad but GCHarb's link above shows part of the reason.

But its clearly simple to make right. Please do so for 8.0 point release.
This will make a big difference and is important (IMHO)

Blend Morphs is a crucial tool to make animation simpler...
:D :!: :!:
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3923
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Post by chucky » Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:53 am

Happy note.... version (8.1 is coming and will have the relative blend toggle.
YAAY! :D :D :D
Thanks Dev team!!! :D :D :D
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
Post Reply