Tool tip for switch in timeline

Discuss ideas for new features with other users. To submit feature requests to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
ErikAtMapache
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 11:51 am

Tool tip for switch in timeline

Post by ErikAtMapache » Thu May 10, 2012 3:02 am

I suggest having a tool tip popup in the timeline when you hold the cursor over a dot(keyframe/circle/node?) that says what switch layer is selected by the keyframe.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4875
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Re: Tool tip for switch in timeline

Post by Víctor Paredes » Thu May 10, 2012 3:38 am

I have been thinking about switch layers and have a similar idea, but I think it gives a better visual relation between keys and layers.
Image
I think layers could be auto colored, and keyframes of each one should of the same layer color. You could change the color of a layer by clicking over the color. So, for example, if I have a dialog with lots of L's, I could define a very salient color for L, so I would know where all the L's are in the timeline.

I think colorize the layers should be an option for all layers, even when they are not in a switch. For example, there are layers which I never animate, they could be gray, but I could colorize the layers I animate most, so could easily find them in the sea of layers.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
ErikAtMapache
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 11:51 am

Re: Tool tip for switch in timeline

Post by ErikAtMapache » Fri May 11, 2012 2:15 am

I like -- although I don't keep my switch layer open when I animate.
Post Reply