Lock and Solo Layer

Discuss ideas for new features with other users. To submit feature requests to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
Brick_Loko
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:17 pm

Lock and Solo Layer

Post by Brick_Loko » Sat Aug 05, 2017 3:03 pm

Hi,

not remember seeing those functions in Moho, but it will be helpful to be able to solo and lock vector layers when I'm drawing.

Best
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Lock and Solo Layer

Post by Greenlaw » Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:55 pm

You can't natively lock a layer. This is a much re-quested feature. However, Synthsin75 has written a menu script that will do that. Go here for more info: viewtopic.php?p=167236#p167236

Currently there is not a specific 'Solo' option. However, you can easily set this up using the Layer Comps panel. Just set up a layer comp for the currently visible layers, save that as a 'master' layer comp; and then setup another layer comp of only the layer you wish to 'solo'. Using the panel's visibility option, toggle between the two layer comps.

Another option is to simply Alt-Click a layer. This hides all other layers but the one you clicked on. Alt-Click that layer again and it reveals the hidden layers. It a lot like the command in Photoshop, so it has some of same pitfalls. But if you're switching back and forth only between these two views, it's perfectly fine.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
Post Reply