How to find the midpoint in asp? please help (SOLVED)

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

User avatar
hothead
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:53 pm

How to find the midpoint in asp? please help (SOLVED)

Post by hothead »

How to find the midpoint in asp? please help between two point. is this the way you calculate it
(x+x)/2 (y+y)/2
(1+3)/2 (4+2)/2
therefore x=2 and y=3

please try and tell me

UPDATE

ponysmasher solve this problem for me.
Last edited by hothead on Sat Jun 26, 2010 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ponysmasher
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:23 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Post by ponysmasher »

I think this would work:

midpoint = first position+((second position-first position)/2)

But math was never my favourite subject in school...
User avatar
Imago
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Sardinia

Post by Imago »

But... Why we are talking about math?
Sorry for my bad english... Q_Q
User avatar
hothead
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:53 pm

Post by hothead »

my calculation is correct my problem now is that i want to place the bone directly in the middle of two points for my rig to work.
but i just notice that the X and Y position of a POINT is different from the BONE X and Y position
who can i get the bone to be place exactly in the middle of two point are is it that ASP7 is not that advance yet?
thank in advance i await you comment :roll:
User avatar
hothead
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:53 pm

Post by hothead »

Imago wrote:But... Why we are talking about math?
because i need to find the midpoint of two point in ASP7 but i notice bone and points do not share the same X,Y position are is it a BUG
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 6079
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by slowtiger »

Please remember that you're doing animation here, not CAD. If you need that level of accuracy, learn to use the grid.
User avatar
Imago
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Sardinia

Post by Imago »

Yes, the grid can help you.
I'm reborn when I bought Pro version... Debut have no grid! :cry:
Sorry for my bad english... Q_Q
sbtamu
Posts: 1915
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by sbtamu »

If you just need to find a mid point of any thing, use triangulation.

Image
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
User avatar
Imago
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Sardinia

Post by Imago »

There is also some "virtual drawing tools", like A Ruler For Windows.

http://www.arulerforwindows.com/

I used it with AS Debut, it's very useful.

I think you can find also some protractor or similar to measure angles.
Sorry for my bad english... Q_Q
User avatar
hothead
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:53 pm

Post by hothead »

slowtiger wrote:Please remember that you're doing animation here, not CAD. If you need that level of accuracy, learn to use the grid.
yes the grid is there but remember we DONT always use the grid when we create our character therefore if i turn grid snaping it well snap the points where i dont need then to go. there is automatic cars and manual car gear box auto for learner while manual is for pro.

my point it that AS do not know exactly what the animator want plus i am not using a super computer so there shoul be a manual way to enter the same accuracy of information that you'll get when you use gird snap.

example answer me this you have two points one is exactly on the grid on the other one is two and a half 2 1/2 grid away thats is exactly in the middle of one grid and the grid setting is set to one. how well you find the mid point
here is the point A. x=-0.1646, y=0.9053---- point B. x=0.0440 y=0.9053
plot this in ASP then i bet you cant use AS grid to snap between these two point that is the reason why there most be a manual why to do this.
for the SM product to become number one in the world they need to fix these simple things first all you Beta tester should found this out years ago SM should i send in my resume!
ponysmasher
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:23 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Post by ponysmasher »

hothead wrote: because i need to find the midpoint of two point in ASP7 but i notice bone and points do not share the same X,Y position are is it a BUG
They don't? Have you moved the different layers around or are you not talking about the base of the bone?
User avatar
hothead
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:53 pm

Post by hothead »

ponysmasher wrote:
hothead wrote: because i need to find the midpoint of two point in ASP7 but i notice bone and points do not share the same X,Y position are is it a BUG
They don't? Have you moved the different layers around or are you not talking about the base of the bone?
i have one bone layer with ono bone on it, one layer on that layer i have a line with three points on it. i need to get the bone base to be exactly on the middle point so that the bone can rotate on that point
sbtamu
Posts: 1915
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by sbtamu »

Using absolute values.

(X1 + X2)/2=X3

X3 is the distance from either end points. Simply add a point anywhere and enter the selected points new X value. There really isn't any reason to use slope formula y=mx+b
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
User avatar
hothead
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:53 pm

Post by hothead »

sbtamu wrote:Using absolute values.

(X1 + X2)/2=X3

X3 is the distance from either end points. Simply add a point anywhere and enter the selected points new X value. There really isn't any reason to use slope formula y=mx+b
(X1 + X2)/2=X3 this is incorrect if (X1 + X2)/2=X3 hench X3 divide by 2
therefore X=
x1=4
X2=6
(X1 + X2)/2=
(4+6)=10
10 divide 2 =5
therefore X=5
sbtamu
Posts: 1915
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by sbtamu »

Of course if both Xs have the same sign then u subtract.
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
Post Reply