Render = Crash city in Win 7 64bit

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

theotherguy
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:46 am
Location: Toronto

Render = Crash city in Win 7 64bit

Post by theotherguy » Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:20 pm

Anyone else having stability issues when rendering animation? ASPro6 crashes repeatedly when rendering .avi files. I'm in the process of migrating from my woeful Vista 32bit system to a Win 7 64bit system which works great with my Vegas video editor (64 bit), but Anime Studio Pro crashes at the slightest provocation.

I'm doing nothing different than I did with the Vista 32 system. This computer has twice the ram and faster cpu.

thoughts?
User avatar
Imago
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Sardinia

Post by Imago » Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:28 pm

I have made a post about it.
Yes, Anime Studio don't like Windows 7 64 bit.
Sorry for my bad english... Q_Q
barryem
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:44 pm

Post by barryem » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:02 pm

I'm using AS Pro 7 on both a 32 bit Vista system and a 64 bit Windows 7 system and both have been completely stable. The same was true of AS 6 Pro.

I can't recall either of them ever crashing.

I should mention that I'm not pushing them very hard. I'm just learning this stuff.

Barry
ponysmasher
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:23 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Post by ponysmasher » Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:33 am

Weird. Like barryem I have had no problems rendering with either AS6 or AS7 on Win 7 64bit.

I never render less than full hd and mostly to PSD or PNG but I've rendered AVI as well.
User avatar
Spidamation
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 7:00 pm

Post by Spidamation » Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:39 pm

Yes @theotherguy i am having the same problem as well, i can render in any format except for .AVI files.

When i used AS5 i can render in any format including .AVI but when i switched to AS6 and 7, they would crash abruptly as i try to export as .AVI.
I am using a Windows vista 32bit version and i am planning on doing a clean re-installation, if i cannot resolve this issue.
Life is a true gift -- When you stop blaming life you will in truth see all of your problems...

-spida


Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/Spidamation
barryem
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:44 pm

Post by barryem » Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:27 am

All my rendering has been to .avi files except for the F5 renders I do. Still no problems.

Barry
sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by sbtamu » Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:40 am

The only time AVI gives me trouble is when I try to compress it. I like to render my .anme as AVI uncompressed before editing it in movie maker or what ever you use. I know that its huge file uncompressed but you can always delete it after you cut it to final production.

But as the original poster stated, he/she is on a 64 bit machine,so there might be something I'm not seeing.
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
theotherguy
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:46 am
Location: Toronto

Post by theotherguy » Sat Jul 03, 2010 5:10 pm

Thanks for the response. I think I've figured out a work-around. I render at 'half frame rate' and it seems to be working ok and doesn't effect picture quality (to my eyes anyway)

I think it has something to do with file size, I use .PNG files in switch layers and if the PNGs are too big (7meg +) the system really crawls. Ditto for adding text, now I add text in my backdrops with CorelDRAW which works great.
User avatar
Spidamation
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 7:00 pm

Solved it

Post by Spidamation » Mon Jan 31, 2011 8:49 am

I figured my problem out, Sony Vegas 7 had caused it, I uninstall it, now I can render anime studio projects in .avi format again.
Life is a true gift -- When you stop blaming life you will in truth see all of your problems...

-spida


Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/Spidamation
JohnArtbox
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:35 am
Location: Scotland Island, Australia
Contact:

Post by JohnArtbox » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:48 am

I've rendered 7 minutes of full hd animation in AS 6 and Windows 7 64 bit without issues, although I use quicktime almost exclusively.
User avatar
Spidamation
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 7:00 pm

Software conflicts with Anime Studio

Post by Spidamation » Mon Jan 31, 2011 8:07 pm

It Figures, another reason users may face this issue is due to a codec problem, in which different softwares may be conflicting with anime studio due to the use of avi.

I recently uninstall sony vegas 7(a video editor), I installed this program and then my anime studio pro 6 faced this problem, I can render in .avi safely using AS pro 5.6, as you can not open AS pro 6.0 documents in 5.6, it became a big issue for me because all my work was done in 6.0. I choose to render in .avi because of the uncompressed frames option.

After a codec re-installation process, an uninstall of AS pro 6.0 and a complete system reinstall, towards no avail, I still had the problem.

I usually install Anime Studio last after all my other softwares, so I decided to uninstall everything and start off with Anime studio, and it worked excellently when trying to export as .avi format. Then I resume to installing the others, one after the other while testing the export in AS. When I got to installing Sony Vegas 7, and tried to export again ....bam!, I got slapped with the same problem again, so I uninstall Vegas and anime studio work a charm!, so in conclusion my Sony Vegas somehow clashed with my anime studio pro and cause the program to dysfunction. Hope this helps in some way.

take care.
Life is a true gift -- When you stop blaming life you will in truth see all of your problems...

-spida


Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/Spidamation
sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by sbtamu » Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:48 pm

I use Sony Vegas Pro 9 for 90% of my editing and I have no problems rendering AVI in AS. Maybe there is an update to your Vegas that you need to download?

Win XP 32 bit.
AS pro 7.1
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
User avatar
Spidamation
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 7:00 pm

Post by Spidamation » Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:20 am

@sbtamu,

Oh yes a little something I forgot to mention, I decided to pick up Sony Vegas Pro 9 and it had no problem with anime studio, It seems as if the build of the Sony Vegas pro 7 I had caused the problem.

Have you ever tried Vegas Pro 7 sbtamu?
Life is a true gift -- When you stop blaming life you will in truth see all of your problems...

-spida


Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/Spidamation
sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by sbtamu » Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:25 am

Spidamation wrote:@sbtamu,

Oh yes a little something I forgot to mention, I decided to pick up Sony Vegas Pro 9 and it had no problem with anime studio, It seems as if the build of the Sony Vegas pro 7 I had caused the problem.

Have you ever tried Vegas Pro 7 sbtamu?
Nope spidy, I bought Vegas 9 as my 1st ever editor.
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
User avatar
Spidamation
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 7:00 pm

Post by Spidamation » Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:43 am

sbtamu wrote:
Spidamation wrote:@sbtamu,

Oh yes a little something I forgot to mention, I decided to pick up Sony Vegas Pro 9 and it had no problem with anime studio, It seems as if the build of the Sony Vegas pro 7 I had caused the problem.

Have you ever tried Vegas Pro 7 sbtamu?
Nope spidy, I bought Vegas 9 as my 1st ever editor.

Ok sbtamu, thanks for the response, take care man.
Life is a true gift -- When you stop blaming life you will in truth see all of your problems...

-spida


Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/Spidamation
Post Reply