Layer Masking

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Peteroid

Layer Masking

Post by Peteroid »

Just a quick reality check (for me)...

In the context of AS7PRO, a 'layer mask's shape is what is made visible (or see-through), not what is hidden, yes?

I'm use to the word 'mask' to mean the part which is covered up, or the exact opposite of how it is used in AS7PRO.

Again, this is just the way I think... your mileage may vary. This is very easy for me to adjust to. But it did make going through the Layering Mask tutorial a little tough to understand at first... :oops:
funksmaname

Post by funksmaname »

I'm not very experienced with masking in AS - i find them quite confusing so have steered clear in general (but should really practice more)

I think the effect of masking can be either/or what you suggest by choosing 'hide all' or 'reveal all' on the group/bone layer...

I highly reccomend Ramon's 'Lost Layer Tool' which lets you very quickly try out lots of masking combinations without going to the 'layer settings pallette/masking tab' to try combinations - hugely improving workflow.

Also, bear in mind that the masking works from the bottom up as far as i can see so for a 'add to mask' layer to take effect on another layer it should be below it in the stack...

hope this helps, and i've not given misleading information :P
Peteroid

Post by Peteroid »

Masking seems to be a very powerful feature. But I'll ask once again:

WHERE IS THE TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION FOR HOW TO USE MASKING?

The User's Manual only has a few examples. These examples do not even mention any of the following topics, and so doesn't even touch what I'm guessing is the full power of masking:

* Reveal All group mask setting
* Subtracting from Masks
* Clearing masks
* the importance of layer order in masking

In short, the masking information is ridiculously unavailable. And this is confused by such things as this:

* LOWER layers hide HIGHER layers (huh?)