Switching from TB harmony to ASP, small studio

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

karip

Switching from TB harmony to ASP, small studio

Post by karip »

Hi AS forum,

I’m Kari from Pyjama Films and we’re making a pilot for a series this spring.

At the moment we’re using toon boom harmony for a short film and were doing a mixture between cut out and FBF. I’ve found that rigging and using rigged characters in harmony is not the most fluid thing. That’s why I’m investigating for an alternative.

I started learning ASP on monday and by wednesday I was able (through many great and clear tutorials) produce a working and quite decent rig version 1. So this alone tells me that the software is more intuitive and the resources to learn it are out there. Also the forum seems very active, responsive and personal.

Through tutorials, I managed to understand smart bone dials, target bones, bone constraints, dynamic bones, smooth bone joint and this flexi binding thing which was a bit tricky.

I’m sure that with some more time I can take it so much further. This pilot will most likely use the same technique with mixing cut out and FBF. It also seems that this can be done in ASP. I saw a tutorial from Chuck Kenway (bursting watermelon) where he showed a way to use reference layers to organize FBF workflow. So I think drawing FBF could be also done inside ASP.

However the biggest questions I still want to think about are connected to file management.
How to manage the files with, lets say 5 to 10 animators through a server?

I got the idea that all the ASP licenses have their own content library. Can it be shared? Or can I make a shared project library where everybody could pull characters to their scenes and put new hands etc. into?

In the beginning, I want to be in a situation where all my files are in a server and everybody can call up on characters, props or whatever we need and nothing gets weird.