How many frames for smart bone/action (secondary timeline?)

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
rar313
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:59 pm

How many frames for smart bone/action (secondary timeline?)

Post by rar313 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 6:11 pm

When designing a smart bone or action, how does one determine, on the secondary timeline, duration (how many frames) to make a smart bone or action? Are there general guidelines? In on line tutorials, the duration on the secondary timeline is chose anywhere from a couple of frames to 100 frames without explanation of why that duration is chosen.
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7251
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: How many frames for smart bone/action (secondary timelin

Post by synthsin75 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 7:09 pm

Generally somewhere around 100 frames is good for anything. Too few frames will make the smart bone action less smooth.
User avatar
GCharb
Posts: 2202
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:31 am
Location: Saint-Donat, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: How many frames for smart bone/action (secondary timelin

Post by GCharb » Sun Sep 04, 2016 1:57 pm

I agree with Wes, I usually go for 100, a nice even number that is easy to divide!
User avatar
neeters_guy
Posts: 1570
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: How many frames for smart bone/action (secondary timelin

Post by neeters_guy » Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:32 pm

It depends on the motion. If there are a lot complex motions, then you'll need more frames to smooth it out. In a wide head turns, for example, you may need to fix points at various frames. Ditto, If there are points that move in curves, ie., in the x and y directions.

For simple linear point motion, you only need one frame. Eskchat shows this effectively in this recent thread, my new Character "fokal" step by step. All his smart bone actions are on frame one and there's even layer sort as well.
Lychee
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: How many frames for smart bone/action (secondary timelin

Post by Lychee » Sun Sep 04, 2016 10:22 pm

Hello.

I also noticed that more you put images in a smartbone, it requests resources from the computer.
happened me to have a fluid action I put a lot of images, but instead it gave the wrong computer for showed the fluid action in real time.
I tried to make a headturn over an action in the timeline, image 0 (front view), 1 (3/4 view) and 2 (profile view), but it made me frame by frame.
It would be nice to have an option as the 0 to 1 image but for the full timeline, interpolations to save computer resources.
Post Reply