STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
MOJOjjeepjoe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:05 am

STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by MOJOjjeepjoe » Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:25 am

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1zhpdZC ... sp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1v55qOb ... sp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rzYmJq ... sp=sharing

Hello all! I have been fighting with the STYLE use in my files, and would like to know what can I do to make things work better? I have a large file with different layers with numbers as "shapes." I want to be able to change the colors of the shapes later on if needed, so I created a single STYLE. When I first create shapes the style looks good for each one, but when I make changes to the color or stroke, then the crazy style changes for one or two of my shapes, and i cannot get the style to match up to the others, without changing the INDIVIDUAL shape alone.

Here are my steps for changing colors
1. I select my style to use, make changes.
2. Then I select my shape with the "create a shape" TOOL, and tool bar selection "create shape."

The above pictures are a example of the style drama I am having.

Has anyone else had STYLE drama? What can I do to make things smoother? Thank you for any suggestions offered.
jezjones29
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by jezjones29 » Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:46 pm

When this happens to me, I normally do a quick Ctrl+A (to select all points) then Ctrl+Alt+L (to reset line widths). This can fix any problems caused by using the line width tool (W).
Can you share your demo file?
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3935
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by chucky » Fri Jan 26, 2018 4:12 pm

It doesn't look like those shapes have any actual style applied to them .
Did you name a style and then select it and apply it to the shape?
That difficult line widths definitely look odd , that would be hard to explain without seeing the file.
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
hayasidist
Posts: 2171
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by hayasidist » Fri Jan 26, 2018 4:47 pm

yeah - like Chucky said - it's not clear that you've actually used Styles. Also, there is animation of fill and stroke in frame 1. If all you've done is use an "identical" fill/stroke combination on each number and then changed one - that's what you'll see: just that one changes.

===
To use a Style:

In the advanced style window - select the Styles dropdown and click new - and create a style called (say) number with the properties (fill / stroke) you want.

If you're using the Text tool to create the numbers - make sure you've selected the style by name

To apply a style to an already created shape: select that shape and, in the advanced Style window, select the required style name from the (typically) Style1 dropdown

Note that you can use the fill and stroke checkboxes to turn on/off fill or stroke (Turn both off and the shape - not the path - is deleted.)

Notice that the styles window is captioned "STYLE" if you are actually editing a style (or "SHAPE" if you're working on a shape's fill/stoke properties).

also, you can animate a style's properties - but you'll only see keyframes for it if you have selected the style for editing in the Styles window.

==

hth
User avatar
neeters_guy
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by neeters_guy » Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:07 pm

Things to check: Camera zoom is the same value for all the layers and scale compensation checkbox is the same.
MOJOjjeepjoe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:05 am

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by MOJOjjeepjoe » Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:26 am

Thank you for all the suggestions, and assistance. To answer some questions before I share how I solved my issue; I was using a single style called "numbers" with color and line width of 1. I would then create my shape while the "numbers" style is displayed and my shape IS created correctly. Where I run into problems is when I make changes to the style "numbers" example line width to 3, so to change all shapes; there are rouge shapes that stop responding correctly. That is what my pictures were trying to show.

I will try all suggestions to see how they effect my drama, BUT I would like to explain the time consuming steps I had to take to neutralize the rogue shapes.

1. I selected the Shapes with shape tool, then pressed DELETE. I would have to select the color and the stroke, but one they were deleted I was left with a wire frame, empty shape.
2. Now that my shape is empty and un-named, I can now apply the single style "numbers" and create the new named shape with my style.

My only complaint is it requires step by step review of all shapes.

Thank you again for all suggestions, see you when I hit another wall!
hayasidist
Posts: 2171
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by hayasidist » Sat Jan 27, 2018 1:38 pm

glad you got it sorted. from what you've said (but without seeing the actual file with the rogue shapes in it, it's impossible to be sure) it sounds as though you did not have the numbers style set as default in the style window (caption in such cases "DEFAULTS (for new shapes)") - IOW the defaults dropdown for Sytle1 was not set to numbers. My guess is that it was set to "none" and that fill / stroke were set to something very similar to the numbers style so it appeared as though the shapes were getting the numbers style, but actually they were not getting a style - just a default fill/stroke which was close to, but not exactly the same as, that in the style.

FWIW there are many people who find "styles" difficult to work with -- e.g. http://lostmarble.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... 5&p=179009
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7203
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by synthsin75 » Sat Jan 27, 2018 8:33 pm

Old, but still relevant style window tutorial.
MOJOjjeepjoe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:05 am

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by MOJOjjeepjoe » Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:02 am

The explanation and video helped clear up the STYLE mud some more, thank you! I will add info this to my little book of knowledge for future reference.

Now, that I vented and had time to reflect, my "rogue" shapes and STYLE issue might have been something I induced, BUT now I also remember some "ODD" STYLE behavior. For example: I have created the same shapes with the same style, over and over using the same process steps; then “out of the blue,” a single STYLE attribute is no longer selected. I never touched the attribute that changed, it just decided to change itself.

When, I think about it now, I may have just “fixed” the problem shape, by selecting STYLE override check box, and that may have created my “rouge” shapes that I run into later when adjusting the STYLES.

Thank you again for the assistance I guess it is: “Reputation thru repetition,” that will fix my problems.
MOJOjjeepjoe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:05 am

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by MOJOjjeepjoe » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:03 am

Ok gang, I have created my original issue again where SHAPES assigned to a STYLE act differently; and I believe the issues related to IMPORT, here is the specific steps:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=113YeC ... 6eNG5Fc3oR

I have a main file, The Style I want to use is “counting” and I have it already assigned to my number 12. Then, I IMPORTED objects from 2 other MOHO files already created. (The two IMPORTS are the multiplication sign and division sign.)
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1k4BBh ... 1dfcHOJl_N

Once I imported them I selected each with the shape tool and deleted everything from the imported shapes, to get the wire frame.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1BMIV2 ... dfgS81t4QR

Next, I assigned the STYLE “counting” to each one, I can change the FILL color in the STYLE “counting” and all three shapes change correctly BUT the strokes do not match up.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1xK4oV ... Xo41uuwRwh
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1kuZlF ... jFcFkHl7gw

Here is my file for review https://drive.google.com/open?id=1e0aY6 ... KC5BTzk08i

I believe it may have something to do with the IMPORT MOHO object, what do you think? Can you make my file behave? OR see what I am doing wrong?
MOJOjjeepjoe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:05 am

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by MOJOjjeepjoe » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:10 am

Oh, my only solution is to make each SHAPE a different stroke width, using the override selection on the Style menu.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KB1yT ... WjNm4vlWm-
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Rwx5G ... XPqZvZ4rrv

Now all the strokes for each shape assigned to STYLE "counting" look the same.
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7203
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by synthsin75 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:11 am

Your problem is that the layers are scaled differently. They also don't have the same scale compensation settings.

The easiest way to correct this is to run Edit>Normalize Layer Scale on each of those layers.

It's generally better to scale the vectors rather than the layers.
MOJOjjeepjoe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:05 am

Re: STYLE drama??? MOHO Pro

Post by MOJOjjeepjoe » Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:46 am

I was going to ask about WHY the layers are not natively matched in settings?

I have always made copies of layers, then moved the copy where I wanted it and used the original as the correct sizing, then delete the unused one.

One more question the VIEW Grid is for each layer and moves with each layer, WHAT, is a good technique for a "master" grid that I can align all my layers to?
Post Reply