switch interpolation not working with referenced action

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
EricTheFish
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:37 pm

switch interpolation not working with referenced action

Post by EricTheFish » Thu Aug 22, 2019 2:27 pm

I'm using Moho12.5. I have an action which animates a switch layer with 3 simple sub layers and the switch layer is set to interpolate sub layers.

If I COPY the action to the timeline, it works OK. However, if I REFERENCE the action to the timeline, the sub interpolation goes all weird. It sort of tries to work but the motion has erratic jerks.

With a reference action on the timeline and playing around with the playhead, I noticed that this erratic behaviour only occurs whilst moving forwards. Dragging the playhead backwards, the interpolation works OK.

The interpolation errors show up in a render so it's not just a display glitch in the interface.

Is there a workaround or should I just avoid referencing actions that use interpolated switch layers?

Thanks for advice.
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3932
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Re: switch interpolation not working with referenced action

Post by chucky » Fri Aug 23, 2019 5:34 am

Hey Erik, yeah I would just avoid it.
I'm not sure interpolation logically could work with references so I don't think it's something that could ever be ' fixed' .
I guess it's a bit like ( in a funny way) , 'my walrus won't fly'. If you know what I'm saying :D .

Referenced action are only really useful when the animation is a stand in and needs some tweaking. Like an unfinished walk cycle or something.
I used them more a longer time ago, but now very rarely. T
They are definitely cool but not often needed.

Hope that helps Erik
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
User avatar
EricTheFish
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: switch interpolation not working with referenced action

Post by EricTheFish » Fri Aug 23, 2019 1:44 pm

Understood! I guess it's also a bit of "just because you can, it doesn't mean you should"!

I'm new to Moho and still exploring the features. Another pothole avoided! :)

Many thanks Chucky

BTW just been looking at your animations on Youtube - very impressive, great reference material for what's achievable!
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3932
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Re: switch interpolation not working with referenced action

Post by chucky » Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:27 pm

Hey thanks Erik, if you can bear to subscribe you get those hints videos when the appear. :)
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
User avatar
EricTheFish
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: switch interpolation not working with referenced action

Post by EricTheFish » Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:26 pm

I subscribed to your channel Chucky. Onwards and upwards! :)
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3932
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Re: switch interpolation not working with referenced action

Post by chucky » Sat Aug 24, 2019 3:47 pm

Cheers Erik!
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3932
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Re: switch interpolation not working with referenced action

Post by chucky » Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:51 am

Hey Erik, I think you may be right, there's a problem.
It's not interpolation, it's reference actions themselves think interpolation may well work if this new bug is fixed.

It seems there is a bug where reference actions are inserting a normal keyframe immediately before the reference key even when not using switches, which stops any tweening of any kind , unless you actually delete the erroneous key afterwards.

This means reference actions are completely broken right now.
I'll report the bug. :D
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
User avatar
EricTheFish
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: switch interpolation not working with referenced action

Post by EricTheFish » Thu Aug 29, 2019 11:07 am

Hi Chucky,
I had a look at file where I noticed the issue and deleted that rogue key but the jerky interpolation issues remain. It's odd that dragging the playhead backwards works OK and it's only moving forwards that errors occur.

FWIW I installed Moho13 demo and tried the same file. I get the same behaviour so if it's a bug it's also still there in v13.

Thanks for reporting it!
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3932
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Re: switch interpolation not working with referenced action

Post by chucky » Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:55 pm

I think the bug is in the general reference action maybe so not specific to the switch interpolation, they maybe be separate issues.
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
Post Reply