13: Brushes on Outlines

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5402
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

13: Brushes on Outlines

Post by slowtiger » Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:43 am

Can somebody please have a look and tell me if the brush handling of Moho has been improved? The old (pre-13) version can only assign 1 bitmap per stroke and doesn't provide much variation. I'm looking for either:
a) several bitmaps per stroke
b) more variation in size and placement
and, in general:
c) better distribution of bitmaps between points (that is, not the same number everywhere regardless of distance of points)

Here is a small example of what I'm looking for:
Image
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB RAM OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB RAM OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3932
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Re: 13: Brushes on Outlines

Post by chucky » Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:40 am

We've had multibrushes for ages now.
You can use your current version I would think .
What I have done to get that effect ( ish) I wish we had me control over distribution too, is to have a variety of brush brush tip sizes with more small than large.
THere's a brush called bumpy that does an OK job, , but yes it would be great to be able to get that type of variation.
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5402
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: 13: Brushes on Outlines

Post by slowtiger » Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:18 pm

Since v10, to be exact - which I skipped, and it wasn't mentioned when I bought 11. Anyway, thank you for mentioning it - wasn't much covered in the forum.

It seems Moho is a bit picky about naming that multiple brush folder, couldn't make it work immediately, and that's not mentioned in the manual. But then it's nice, exactly what I need! Now I'll be able to use my TVPaint brushes in Moho (or at least some of them). Thx!
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB RAM OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB RAM OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
mrc
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:36 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: 13: Brushes on Outlines

Post by mrc » Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:50 pm

slowtiger wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:18 pm
It seems Moho is a bit picky about naming that multiple brush folder, couldn't make it work immediately, and that's not mentioned in the manual. But then it's nice, exactly what I need!
Would you mind giving a little hint regarding the folder name?

Marc
You don't agree with the post above? Click here.
My first Moho project
My second Moho project
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5402
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: 13: Brushes on Outlines

Post by slowtiger » Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:47 pm

There's an example given in the manual about naming, that and with some try and error I found this:

name can be upper or lower case,
one or several words,
BUT
words must be separated by spaces, not underscores
numbers can be written to the names directly or with space, but no underscore

This is because the first underscore will be interpreted as "now comes the settings part" as in manual, Moho expects a bunch of numbers now in that specific format.

I haven't tested for it, but I suspect the PNGs inside have to follow the name/number rule: paint01, paint02 etc.

(Berlin? Have we met at the Tricktisch?)
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB RAM OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB RAM OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
Post Reply