Auto trace in Moho Pro 13

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

A123rick

Auto trace in Moho Pro 13

Post by A123rick »

Whenever I import an image into Moho Pro 13 and go to draw as I've seen in some video tutorials there is no option to trace the image? :( what am I doing wrong? I am very new to Moho, I've selected the layer on the layers panel and gone to the draw tab but no trace image??
hayasidist

Re: Auto trace in Moho Pro 13

Post by hayasidist »

IIRC Trace was dropped from 13 because of copyright / IPR ownership issues.
alanthebox

Post by alanthebox »

You can go to View / Select Tracing Image, though. Or are we talking about different things here...?
Greenlaw

Post by Greenlaw »

Different thing.

Select Tracing Image allows you to trace vector art from and image manually.

Auto-Trace allowed you to generate vector art from a bitmap image automatically.

I've never been sure what the value of importing a Tracing Image is over importing to a normal Image Layer for tracing. Tracing Image seems to more limited than an Image Layer...after importing the image, Moho pre-determines the scale and placement, and all I can do is trace it as is. With an Image Layer I'm able to transform the image, crop it, and now in 13, I can even edit/append the image in Moho before tracing it.

As for Auto-Trace, I think the implementation in Moho 12 and earlier was just ok. There are much better Auto-Trace tools in dedicated vector drawing programs. Better to do it there and import an SVG.

TBH, I would much rather see the developers work on a better Freehand tool than spend any effort on a new Auto-Trace tool.
Greenlaw

Post by Greenlaw »

If you need to auto trace for Moho 13, here's a free online solution:

https://www.autotracer.org/

I tried it out with a random image from the web and imported the result to Moho. The render on the right side is the raw, unedited auto traced image.