Help me with head and body turns please

Want to share your Moho work? Post it here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Pinesal

Help me with head and body turns please

Post by Pinesal »

So this is my first attempt at a head and body turn. I think it turned out ok but I have seen much much better stuff from other's on this forum. I can't quite put my finger on what's wrong. Any tip and/or suggestions on how to improve?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-rggluvXOtw
heyvern

Re: Help me with head and body turns please

Post by heyvern »

Well, from the effectiveness or accuracy of the turn aspect it seems to me to work quite well. In the very beginning of the turn it feels as if the body gets "longer" at the bottom area. I think that possibly what you feel is "bad" about it is that it's not in context. There isn't any animation or "acting" so it has no "life".

Is there something specific you want to improve?
Pinesal

Post by Pinesal »

OH. I did forget to ask this in the first post.

I am using a smart bone for the body turn. But I couldn't make change layer order a part of the smart bone like I thought I could. I had to animate the layer order in the main timeline.

Can you change layer order with a smart bone?
heyvern

Post by heyvern »

Pinesal wrote:OH. I did forget to ask this in the first post.

I am using a smart bone for the body turn. But I couldn't make change layer order a part of the smart bone like I thought I could. I had to animate the layer order in the main timeline.

Can you change layer order with a smart bone?
I think so. Trying to remember if this was possible since "the beginning". Not sure if it was available from the first version that had smart bones.