Switch Selection concept for v13.5

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

chucky
Posts: 4650
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by chucky »

Woah, that looks pretty awesome. :D
chucky
Posts: 4650
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by chucky »

Woah, that looks pretty awesome. :D
synthsin75 wrote: Tue May 18, 2021 1:39 am Thanks to the above help from Alexandra and a break in my other work, I should be able to release this this week. It's very close. I just need to fix some image file management.
Image
User avatar
Lukas
Posts: 1297
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 9:00 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by Lukas »

Wow, amazing work Wes!

Edit: I've built and have been using a custom tool for switches within a rig too that I never got around to sharing. It has some nice buttons per switch:
  • go to switchlayer (and back to bone layer)
  • toggle timeline visiblity
  • go to prev/next key
  • see if there's a key at the current frame and if its step or smooth
  • clean switch keys
Image
If you want to implement any of that I can share the code and/or icons. My main problem ended up being limited toolbar space (especially on smaller screens). But its nice to control stuff from the bone layer without having to set up smartbones for everything (which also loses interpolation options). I've noticed having many layers visible on the timeline slows Moho down a lot, that's why I started experimenting with this, but it's also why I still sometimes wonder if its ever a good idea to rig with switch layers at all because I prefer seeing all of a characters keys on the top layer.
User avatar
gilcartunista
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:13 pm
Location: https://www.facebook.com/gil.cartunista
Contact:

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by gilcartunista »

Fantástico!!!Maravilhoso!!!Wes !!!Estou ansioso para experimentar!!!
User avatar
gilcartunista
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:13 pm
Location: https://www.facebook.com/gil.cartunista
Contact:

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by gilcartunista »

Estou tão contente que esta ferramenta foi lançada! mas no momento não tenho dinheiro para comprar moho13, tem alguma possibilidade de eu usar em minha versão 11, pois esta eu comprei e tenho número serial. Grato
User avatar
gilcartunista
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:13 pm
Location: https://www.facebook.com/gil.cartunista
Contact:

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by gilcartunista »

I am so glad that this tool has been launched! but at the moment I don't have the money to buy moho13, there is some possibility that I can use it in my version 11, because this one I bought and I have a serial number. Grateful
kungfudork
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 10:45 pm

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by kungfudork »

Holy Smokes! Thank you Wes! I've been in LA for a few months working nonstop and totally forgot about starting this thread. I can't wait to dive and use this. THANK YOU!
rocky53204
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 3:34 am

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by rocky53204 »

Quite interesting... will give it a try with an existing character.
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 9981
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by synthsin75 »

A.Evseeva wrote: Sat Jan 30, 2021 9:12 am
synthsin75 wrote: Fri Jan 29, 2021 6:49 pm While it's easy enough to pass arguments from Moho Lua to external apps/scripts, it's not as easy to get data back. I think the only way is to write the data to a file, so Lua can read it.
It can be done with:

Code: Select all

			function capture(cmd)
				local f = assert(io.popen(cmd, 'r'))
				local s = assert(f:read('*a'))
				f:close()
				return s
			end
This will return text, external command (script) outputs with its "print" calls
Apparently AutoHotkey can't output to the same command prompt Lua reads. :cry:
User avatar
SimplSam
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by SimplSam »

The other option would be to pass a filename to external app, which it populates, then read/delete the contents of that file after the call.
Moho 14.1 » Win 11 Pro 64GB » NVIDIA GTX 1080ti 11GB
Moho 14.1 » Mac mini 2012 8GB » macOS 10.15 Catalina
Tube: SimplSam


Sam
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 9981
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by synthsin75 »

SimplSam wrote: Sat Dec 09, 2023 11:22 am The other option would be to pass a filename to external app, which it populates, then read/delete the contents of that file after the call.
That's my current plan.
User avatar
hayasidist
Posts: 3528
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by hayasidist »

this (windows) example works without the intermediate file

Code: Select all

	local sOut = io.popen( "dir /B " .. path .. "*.png", "r" )
	local sData = sOut:read "*a"
IOW the output of cmd>dir ... is delivered in the fcb:read ... call (and in this instance provides a simple list of all the .pngs in path)
Last edited by hayasidist on Sat Dec 09, 2023 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 9981
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by synthsin75 »

hayasidist wrote: Sat Dec 09, 2023 11:48 am this (windows) example works (worked in Lua 5.2 - not tried in 5.4) without the intermediate file

Code: Select all

	local sOut = io.popen( "dir /B " .. path .. "*.png", "r" )
	local sData = sOut:read "*a"
IOW the output of cmd>dir ... is delivered in the fcb:read ... call (and in this instance provides a simple list of all the .pngs in path)
The problem is outputting from AutoHotkey, not reading with Lua.
User avatar
hayasidist
Posts: 3528
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Switch Selection concept for v13.5

Post by hayasidist »

ah! sorry. my misunderstanding
Post Reply