Why I hesitate buying ASP

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Zon

Why I hesitate buying ASP

Post by Zon »

I don't mean for this to come across as a flame, or to sound like a troll. I know a lot of you guys have been using this program successfully for a long time, but I wanted to share, more for Mike's benefit than anything, views from a possible new customer and future user of the product given my observations over the last few days.

To start, let me say I have no animation background, and very little drawing experience, so as such I almost feel embarrassed just posting here considering the enormous amount of talent I see on these forums.

I did get a wild hair a while back though about creating animations for fun after seeing Animation Studio at the Apple Store, and the other day I decided to look into it more. Along the way I also learned about Toon Boom Studio 4, and started comparing the two (based on what I'm reading on the web sites and forums, mind you. I haven't downloaded TBS4 demo yet as my initial focus was ASP5). If nothing else I've learned that no matter which product I choose, the learning curve is going to be steep so I want to pick the right product. After all, who knows where I'll go with it?

First thing's first. Let's look at the home page for the company that distributes ASP5:

http://www.smithmicro.com

I have yet to find a direct path from this home page to APS5 without having to use Google. To look at this site you wouldn't even know they deal in graphics, other than the links on the menu which take you to Consumer -> Graphics -> http://www.smithmicro.com/default.tpl?g ... 1=5&id2=79

This really makes me wonder about SM's dedication to this product, and tells me they don't think very highly of it. Hopefully I'm wrong, but that's the impression I get. It seems they're more into mobile communications, and ASP5 is a way to generate extra income.