Help me pick an operating system

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

stephen

Help me pick an operating system

Post by stephen »

Hi,
I am primarilly a Mac user, but I have a dual 750mhz Intel box that I used to run Linux on sitting around doing nothing.

I also have a copy of XP Home Edition that I can install on it.

My question is, Should I install the latest Linux on it and run Moho on that, or should I install XP and run Moho on that?

I am interested strictly in Moho issues. I do not need to know why one OS is better than the other. Just, does Moho run better on one over the other?

Thanks
Stephen
jorgy

Post by jorgy »

Okay, here we go...... :-)

I have been using UNIX for nearly 20 years, and Linux for almost 10. I do not like Microsoft, and I bought my first PC (vs. a mac) to run Linux. I am very pro-linux, and run linux on my desktop even at work (a MS shop) with VMware for outlook, etc.

Having said that, I would recommend that you go with XP on your box. Please ignore the screams of the linux penguin avatar. But yes, for one reason: you are going to run moho. The linux version of moho is excellent, and comes with all the great support you expect from Lost Marble. However, the lack of quicktime is a serious problem. You cannot export to quicktime, or avi, you cannot use the new F5 preview function, you cannot load a soundtrack. Your only choice for exporting video is to flash, but then you don't have any shading or other nice things that moho gives you. These are serious limitations, not of moho, but of the linux multimedia platform as it is now.

My workflow now consists of linux and XP. I do most of my drawing and animating in linux, and then to generate any output I run moho inside of VMware.

I do, however, have a way to generate mpeg from stills exported from moho. Let me know if you're interested. It takes a lot of disk space, but works quite well.