animatable hide bone

Moho allows users to write new tools and plugins. Discuss scripting ideas and problems here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
davoodice2
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2021 1:14 pm

animatable hide bone

Post by davoodice2 »

hello

is there any way do that?
خیام اگر ز باده مستی خوش باش
با ماهرخی اگر نشستی خوش باش
چون عاقبت کار جهان نیستی است
انگار که نیستی چو هستی خوش باش
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 9981
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: animatable hide bone

Post by synthsin75 »

Yeah, check out my animated hide edge tool for a way to do it.
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 9269
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: animatable hide bone

Post by Greenlaw »

No, that's something I've been asking for forever.

Vitruvian Bones addressed many of the reasons I want this feature (and more!)...but not all all them.

Lukas has an interesting take: his script hides groups of bones based on bone color:

http://www.lostmarble.com/forum/viewtop ... 18&t=32498

Unfortunately, I tend use bone color for a lot of other things. (Which reminds me, we need a bone groups system too, for selection, hiding, etc. Maybe just a more robust bones managing system?)
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 9269
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: animatable hide bone

Post by Greenlaw »

@Wes, oh, that's interesting. You're using a layer script to hold the hiding data aren't you? It's been a while since I used Animateable Hide Edges, but I recall it was something like that. (Actually, glad you mentioned it...I was planning to use this tool on my next project, but I don't think I've tested it with 13.5.2 yet.) :D
User avatar
davoodice2
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2021 1:14 pm

Re: animatable hide bone

Post by davoodice2 »

thanks friends.

I think it would be much better than vitruvian bones if moho added this feature.


thanks wes. I will check that.
خیام اگر ز باده مستی خوش باش
با ماهرخی اگر نشستی خوش باش
چون عاقبت کار جهان نیستی است
انگار که نیستی چو هستی خوش باش
User avatar
hayasidist
Posts: 3526
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: animatable hide bone

Post by hayasidist »

I use code in a layerscript to hide bones that aren't relevant to what's going on ... there's not much to it as it's specific to the job but (e.g.) ..

Code: Select all

	local xRotBone = skel:BoneByName(xRotBoneName)
	local yRotBone = skel:BoneByName(yRotBoneName)
	if moho.frame == 0 then
		xRotBone.fHidden = false
		yRotBone.fHidden = false
	else
		xRotBone.fHidden = true
		yRotBone.fHidden = true
	end
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 9981
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: animatable hide bone

Post by synthsin75 »

Greenlaw wrote: Sun Nov 21, 2021 4:21 pm @Wes, oh, that's interesting. You're using a layer script to hold the hiding data aren't you? It's been a while since I used Animateable Hide Edges, but I recall it was something like that. (Actually, glad you mentioned it...I was planning to use this tool on my next project, but I don't think I've tested it with 13.5.2 yet.) :D
I'm using a switch layer to store the keyframes and a layer script to hide the edges according to those keys. Haven't used it in forever, so be sure to let me know if it give 13.5.2 any problems.
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 9269
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: animatable hide bone

Post by Greenlaw »

Will do! I'm taking a rare and much needed vacation break this week and, apart from Thanksgiving, I've planned to only work personal stuff. (Hopefully, my family will allow me this 'selfish' need.) :D
User avatar
davoodice2
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2021 1:14 pm

Re: animatable hide bone

Post by davoodice2 »

hayasidist wrote: Sun Nov 21, 2021 4:52 pm I use code in a layerscript to hide bones that aren't relevant to what's going on ... there's not much to it as it's specific to the job but (e.g.) ..

Code: Select all

	local xRotBone = skel:BoneByName(xRotBoneName)
	local yRotBone = skel:BoneByName(yRotBoneName)
	if moho.frame == 0 then
		xRotBone.fHidden = false
		yRotBone.fHidden = false
	else
		xRotBone.fHidden = true
		yRotBone.fHidden = true
	end
I didn't use layer script until now. thanks.
i think virtual bones script is good start point for create custom skeleton with this feature(hide bones.) because i can combine it with smart bones.
خیام اگر ز باده مستی خوش باش
با ماهرخی اگر نشستی خوش باش
چون عاقبت کار جهان نیستی است
انگار که نیستی چو هستی خوش باش
Daxel
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 8:34 pm

Re: animatable hide bone

Post by Daxel »

Hiding only the bone representation on the workview or hiding the associated vector/image layers with them? Sorry I can't help with that, just want to understand the topic.
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 9981
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: animatable hide bone

Post by synthsin75 »

I assume just hiding the bone, not trying to duplicate v-bones.
Post Reply