Make advanced (muzzle) flash effects

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

CodyBDrawin'

Make advanced (muzzle) flash effects

Post by CodyBDrawin' »

Hey, hey, hey; I'm new in town. I've been using Moho for a few years and have made some animated .GIFs for my DeviantArt page and for commissions, but still have a lot of questions on my mind that would benefit from answers from those with more knowledge than I.

One of them is a question on how to make this effect for a sci-fi gun muzzle flash, as seen below (the source is the film Prometheus):

Apart from knowing basic stuff on timing and frame-by-frame animation, I'm really not sure how to achieve something like this in Moho, like what sort of effect that would be, whether it's particles or some sort of effect that I don't know about (because there is a lot to Moho that I A) don't know about; and B) wouldn't have context to, which is why something like this effect isn't something I can Google - I don't know what it would be and what I'm searching for). I've done basic gun muzzle flashes below, I have seen Poptoogi's video on muzzle flashes (but even then, those were rather basic in style, which is okay for some art styles and preferences), but I'm curious on how to make the animated equivalent of something like the effect in the .GIF above, where the shotgun's muzzle flash glows and sort of sparkles as it dissipates (like virtually every muzzle flash, it's extremely brief, so I had to really slow down the thing as best as I could).

I'm not necessarily asking someone to make a demo (though it would be fantastic and highly appreciated if anyone was willing to do so, since a visual aid would be great, even if it's a series of screenshots), but any sort of tips or instructions on what I would have to do to make something like the muzzle flash effect above would be appreciated just as much.
slowtiger

Re: Make advanced (muzzle) flash effects