Any tutorials on how to get a hand drawn look?

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

NealF

Any tutorials on how to get a hand drawn look?

Post by NealF »

I've got Moho Pro 12.
I do most of my character creation in Clip Studio because I don't like the smooth line look and want to get a hand drawn look to my animation.

I've avoided drawing in Moho and have mainly used it for cut out animation and lip syncing.

Is anybody making hand drawn type animation using Moho? Love to see a good tutorial.

Thanks.
alanthebox

Re: Any tutorials on how to get a hand drawn look?

Post by alanthebox »

i've experimented with trying to get a more organic result in moho. i'm by no means an expert and not sure if my results are even that convincing.

on most of my cartoons, i just use textured brushes and add a slight boil by enabling noisy outlines, noisy fills, and animated noise in the vector tab of each layer. it's very low effort, but for me, it's okay.

on the cartoon below, i exclusively used looping frame by frame layers to varying degrees of success, sometimes adding them to bone layers. if i recall correctly, these looping fbf rigs could get a bit unwieldly, and would sometimes require me to point bind multiple fbf layers. for example, if an arm rig was made up of 3 looping vector layers (to give an organic, natural jitter), i would have to point bind each of those layers individually. i believe i also animated everything on 2's.

sorry, not sure if any of this is helpful!
Greenlaw

Post by Greenlaw »

IMO, it depends on what you mean by 'hand drawn'.