That 70's hand drawn animated film look

Want to share your Moho work? Post it here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

CyberFilth

That 70's hand drawn animated film look

Post by CyberFilth »

So this is my first attempt at animating something substantial in Moho.

I last used Anime Studio years ago, but recently got inspired to pick it up again and try and animate a short film in a style that I haven't tried before. This is my first attempt at the intro, I'm aiming for a 70's hand drawn look. Kinda like Heavy Traffic... ish. I've not done much with rigging the character, just drawn several keyframes and pushed points around from one keyframe to line up with the next. It kinda works, and looks just janky enough that I'm happy with it.

slowtiger

Re: That 70's hand drawn animated film look

Post by slowtiger »

The guy's animation is already quite good. I know how hard it is to maintain volume and rigidity in a naturalistic style!

I'm not really comfortable with the 3 different background styles. The room around the guy is nice, it is a bit too empty, but that's a good statement with the flat colours. Maybe just a little bit of textures at the corners? This one is easy to maintain. The cityscapes seem off to me, too much contrast, too happy? And the photograph in the end just doesn't fit - IMHO.

There's an account on Twitter https://twitter.com/GrimArtGroup which posts 20th century artwork about workers' life and living places. You may find some inspiration there.

Please keep us updated!
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
Moho 13.5 iMac Quadcore 2,9GHz 16GB OS 10.15

Moho 14.1 Mac Mini Plus OS 13.5
CyberFilth

Post by CyberFilth »

Thanks for the link, I'll see if I can get some inspiration there.

I found the backgrounds more of a problem that the character animation, to be honest.