Are Code Based Animations and Triggering Animations with Code Possible?

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

DigitalDesignDude

Are Code Based Animations and Triggering Animations with Code Possible?

Post by DigitalDesignDude »

Hello all,

I'm new to using MOHO and am experienced with software like After Effects and Adobe Animate where you create dynamic or code-based animations using JavaScript or ActionScript.

I see that MOHO supports scripts for automating things like editing art and setting up rigs quickly, but does MOHO allow you to code dynamic animations or use code to control what animations are played?

For example, I would like to make an animated explainer video where after a character finishes talking, code would randomly select and tween to one of my premade looping idle animations.

I'm still learning about MOHO Actions, but from my understanding, they can be used to re-use animations and are the closest thing in MOHO to using something like Adobe Flash/Animate's Symbols. Though I'm unaware if there is a way to trigger Actions randomly from the timeline and if the timeline even allows for keyframes that contain code in them like in Adobe Flash/Animate.

Thank you for any information or assistance regarding this!
synthsin75

Re: Are Code Based Animations and Triggering Animations with Code Possible?

Post by synthsin75 »

With a button or menu script you can use random number generation to select and then insert an action into the timeline. But you'd need to activate the menu or button script.

You could only do this automatically from the timeline by using a layerscript and having a specific trigger, like a hard-coded frame number or a specific keyframe value in a specific animation channel, etc..
hayasidist

Post by hayasidist »