[newb megathread] ASP vs TBH vs Flash

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Aleque

[newb megathread] ASP vs TBH vs Flash

Post by Aleque »

Hi all

(I have assigned numbers to all of my questions to make it easier to target specific questions with possible answers)

My background is around 15 years of amateur Flash animation. I finally decided to move on to other animation-applications due to the limitations of Flash.

My dream is to become an indie animator and get profit from crowdfunding, merchandise and maybe even sponsors. I want to make mediocre quality animations (to begin with) and release them every 1-2 weeks. The duration of each animation is going to vary from 30 seconds to 2 minutes (plus / minis) but I'm aiming at releasing animation of somewhat even duration, eventually.

Regarding the quality of my animations: I am certaintly not aiming at super fancy Disney-stuff. On the contrary - I am looking for methods that make my animations look as simple/handmade/"crappy" as possible, while still being believable and entertaining.

(Inspirations: 12 Oz Mouse, Charlie the Unicorn, South Park, Cyanide and Happiness, Weebl and Bob)

I believe, that if I go for the super-simple style to begin with, it gives an illusion that it was handmade by some handicapped kids (I know it sounds silly), and it has its charm, and I can always upgrade the quality of my animations in the future. My main focus to begin with is: humor, storytelling and character development. I am planning to do my own voices and music. In other words - I want to work alone, until I can afford to hire freelancers. So, now you approximately have an idea regarding what I am aiming at: my ambitions, goals, animation style. Now, to the software aspect.