Shifting keyframes within sub layers?

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Reindeer

Shifting keyframes within sub layers?

Post by Reindeer »

Hi I'm quite new to AS. I like it very much, so much that I'm using it for a project. But all of a sudden I've come up against a wall and I can find no solution. I'll try to explain.

I have my character rigged with a bone layer containing a number of body part layers, and he works pretty well.

As I go along animating I will sometimes add 'deep' keyframes (animation menu command) because I also want to do some point animation in the lower layers. As an example, let's say I want the character to lower his head and frown.
So, I keyframe on the starting position and I keyframe again on the end position.
On the second keyframe I lower the head with his head bone (which is parented to the other facial layers, mouth, eyes, etc). Great.
Now I go into his head layer, meaning the layer which contains the head vector shape, and on the second keyframe (which has of course been created from the top) I operate a few changes to the points so I get a little deformation for his frown.
So far so good, but now I crash against an apparently unsolvable problem: if I want to change the position of my second keyframe (head down and frowning) by a few frames, say move it from frame 10 to frame 15 for timing's sake, how can I do this without moving the keyframes on each layer?
Is there a way to drag a keyframe from the bone layer in such a way that it will also move all the keyframes on the sub layers?

In my example I am talking just about two layers, so I can pretty easily do them one at a time. But say I'd want to change stuff on three or four or more, the simple task of moving a keyframe along the timeline would be very time consuming (plus prone to errors).

I hope I've explained the problem well enough. Thank you!
drumlug13